• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Reckless Driving: Do I need a lawyer with my history?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moking

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Virginia

I was charged with reckless driving of 97 in a 70 while coming around a downhill curve.

Here are some of the things I have that may help.
1. I am a full time student and worker (two jobs) and need my vehicle for those travels
2. I work in human services at a nonprofit (both jobs) that require me to have a clean driving record (no more than 6 points). Without a good driving record, it could result in no job.
3. I was trained 3 different defensive driving classes for my employers including road test. I do have these training certificates including a new one taken AFTER the charge.
4. I do not have any past criminal convictions

Can I get away with a sentence reduce of a speeding ticket?

single317dad

If you value your license and job, you should definitely hire an attorney. The relatively small amount spent would be easily outweighed by the amount lost from loss of employment.

sandyclaus

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Virginia

I was charged with reckless driving of 97 in a 70 while coming around a downhill curve.

Here are some of the things I have that may help.
1. I am a full time student and worker (two jobs) and need my vehicle for those travels
2. I work in human services at a nonprofit (both jobs) that require me to have a clean driving record (no more than 6 points). Without a good driving record, it could result in no job.