• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Reckless Driving Virginia Court Summons

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sm1981

What is the name of your state? VIRGINIA

Hello all,

I moved to VA one month back and bought my first car. I am also a recent college graduate.

I have been summoned to court in a reckless driving offence. I was going on 80mph on a road with a 45mph speed limit. I realize this is a serious offence and am feeling pretty stupid about it. :(

Can anyone tell me what to do in this scenario. I have a clean driving record, no other violations and was not quite aware that VA had such strict speed limits. How many points does this mean on my driving record? Do I need a lawyer for the court summons? What would be the best way to deal with this?

Please help. Thanks.

poeto

I would get a lawyer. Reckless driving is serious charge in VA. At 80 MPH - you may be able to plea it down to improper-driving or simple speeding. But a lawyer would be best suited to do this. Find one near the court house in whatever county this occurred in.

If you are over 85 MPH - my personal experience says that you have no chance for reduction of charge. But at 80 MPH you have some negoc room.

Good luck and please update the forum on the outcome.

sm1981 said:
What is the name of your state? VIRGINIA

Hello all,

I moved to VA one month back and bought my first car. I am also a recent college graduate.

I have been summoned to court in a reckless driving offence. I was going on 80mph on a road with a 45mph speed limit. I realize this is a serious offence and am feeling pretty stupid about it. :(