• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Reckless Speeding Ticket in Loudoun County

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Slavica85

I was going 71mph on 45 in Loudoun County, Virginia which is 26 miles over and is reckless. My court date is coming on Jan 30th and I was wonder if I should take a driving improvement class "before" I go to court? I do not have any points on my liscense and this is my first speeding ticket. I do not know what to do. Please help. Thank you.

Last edited:

homillerlaw

Reckless Driving in Loudon

For a reckless driving charge in Virginia, i first recommend that you retain an attorney to represent you. I say this not because I am an attorney, but because reckless driving is considered a criminal offense, punishable on the same level as assault, trespassing, and petit larceny. [/URL]

As for taking a driver improvement class before your case, this may or may not work to your advantage. There are some jurisdictions in Virginia that refuse to order driving school as a way to reduce or dismiss a charge. I am not familiar with Loudon's policy as to driving school, so you may want to check with the court or a local attorney before taking the class. If the court does allow driving school completion as a way to reduce the offense, it will usually provide you with 2-3 months to complete the course and return the certificate to the clerk.

Last edited by a moderator:

ram1

Use commonsense..

Obviously, the first reply from an attorney says the same old crap - "Reckless driving in VA is a serious felony offense with jail time, fines up to 2500.. blah blah blah"