• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Red Light Violation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mixinmaster

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TN

Hi. I am a TN licensed driver but was on the VA side of Bristol when I was pulled over and written for running a red light. I saw the officer as she pulled up behind me and then went and stopped in the left hand turn lane at the intersection. I continued under the light and it turned yellow (I believe) just as I was getting under it. I went back to the intersection yesterday to look at the scene, as I was baffled how I could have plainly done something so stupid right in front of a cop. As I stood on the sidewalk at the intersection it became apparent what had probably occurred. The light turns from yellow to red in (est) 3 seconds. The speed limit there is 35, I was probably doing about 30 because of the cop and the cloudy, misty, light rain condition. At this rate I believe you would travel about 132 feet in 3 seconds. I haven't measured it but the intersection is placed far from perfect right angles, which results in an intersection that is twice as long from point to point as a "normal" intersection. I do not believe you could go from that point to point in 3 seconds. I witnessed 2 cars in less than 5 minutes get "trapped" by the light as it turns red above them. I plan on measuring, videoing, charting, and calculating the above, then going on the 23rd and pleading "not guilty"**************...What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

I_Got_Banned