• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Santa Clara County California VC-21950(a) Failure to yield to a Pedestrian HELP!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nickelic

What is the name of your state: California (San Jose)

Today I was given a ticket for "Failure to yield to a pedestrian" VC-21950(a). The situation, as I saw it, is as follows. I was pulling into a large private parking lot, this parking lot happens to be where I work as a bartender. There was a gentleman whom was on the sidewalk walking toward the driveway where I was about to turn in. The man seeing me paused allowing me to pull into the driveway. It appeared that the gentleman in question waited for me to start pulling in the driveway then proceeded to cross said driveway, this driveway is about 10 feet across. I was (in my opinion) not causing any type of dangerous situation, the man waited and I went through. The second I stopped in a parking space I was being screamed at to stay in my car. The officer said things to me like "If [the gentleman in question] had not stopped for you, you would have hit him." Even though the only reason I proceeded was for the exact reason of him stopping. After receiving my "people like you kill pedestrians" speech, making me incredibly late for work all the while my co-workers gawking at me, the officer cited me for VC-21950(a) and went on his marry way. On a side note: Indecently with in the next hour or so he had pulled over 3-4 more vehicles in the exact same area as my co-workers were coming in they were giving me constant updates on him.