• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Seat Belt Ticket

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

GLM

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio

I have been driving in Ohio for many years, and this is the second time I have been ticketed for a seat belt violation. This particular time, I was going a few miles per hour over the speed limit, but the officer didn't ticket me for speed, just the seat belt. I had it on by the time he stopped me, but he said he could tell I didn't have it on when I passed him, and I knew that arguing the point was useless. My driving record is pretty much spotless otherwise. I have a couple questions, but let me start by asking anyone who plans to ride me for being stupid and not wearing my seat belt to stay out of this thread, or at least keep your opinions about seat belt use to yourself. I have no interest in hearing all the reasons why I should have to wear it. I believe strongly that legislating a person's personal safety is a very slippery slope, and if left unchecked, our government will soon be legislating our diets, our hobbies, our sex lives, and pretty much everything else. So, to anyone who thinks that our government has the right to force me to wear a seat belt, please just keep your opinion to yourself, and when YOUR rights are violated, you can ask ME to help you ...

I would have gladly taken the ticket for speed and dealt with that... I WAS speeding, and speeding is dangerous to OTHER people.