• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I Plead No Contest?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Brandonh

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Orange County, California

I recently received a traffic citation for passing a red light at an intersection. I agree I did it, but I am hard-pressed to afford the citation. Should I plead no contest to a judge, and explain to him/her that I'm a full-time university student with $400/month income from employment, in the hopes of getting the fine reduced? This is also my first traffic violation if that helps any. Thanks much for your advice.

Last edited:

Jim_bo

Here's an idea... why not get a dismissal? If you try and fail, you'll pay the same amount. So, what do you have to loose? The state has the burden of prosecution... not you!! You simply should hold the state accountable for its obligations.

Brandonh

Well, I don't think I have a good defense. Even I think I ran the red light. I guess I could look at the pictures/video, but if I plead not guilty, and the judge finds me still guilty, I think I'd have a hard time getting him to give me a fine reduction or even a payment plan. I don't know - I'd honestly rather just pay a reduced fine than try to fight it, fail, and get a full price fine.

I_Got_Banned

I'd honestly rather just pay a reduced fine than try to fight it, fail, and get a full price fine.
Like racer said... The fine cannot be reduced. here's why...

I'm guessing you were cited for violation vehicle code section 21453(a), right? (That should be on the citation that you recieved.)

When it comes to the fines for each violation of the vehicle code, there are two ways fines are set by the legistlature.