• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

sigh - 74 in a 55

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bbua87

Well, I live in northeastern Ohio and tonight I received my first speeding ticket and of course, I'm panicking.

I'm a freshman in college and I've only had my license for 6 months but I was clocked doing 74 in a 55. I'm not arguing, I know I was speeding, nothing to argue about so I'm not going to set a court date as long as I don't have to.

All I really want to know is an estimate of how much the ticket is going to cost me and how much my insurance will increase. I'd also like to know what a lot of stuff on the ticket means, like (M.P _), ORC and the numbers that officer wrote which was 4511.210-1 (I think, can't really read his handwriting), and also the officer remarks which mine say 11-73.7% and something like S-1125.6FF - i don't know about that number though because I can't read it at all.

I'm mainly just terrified and shocked still. yep.

cepe10

Your insurance hike can be as much as 30% or so over the next few years. Unless you feel very generous to the state and insurance companies you may want to reconsider challenging the citation.... a $500 lawyer charge to cope a plea may be cheaper in the long run.

M.P. = mile post

4511... (the statute)

The distance like number (1125.6) may be the distance he was from you during measurement with a lidar(laser) device.

Note in Ohio apparently laser (lidar) is not admissable in some (or most) OHIO juristictions:

check out this thread for details:
https://forum.freeadvice.com/showthread.php?t=337689