• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speed not reasonable or Prudent??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mugen939

New York

Hello all,

I'm a resident of New Jersey and I just received a ticket while riding in New York through Harriman state park for the first time. I stopped at a roundabout with my friend to find out which way to go next and while we were pulled on the side of the road a park officer pulls up and asks for our papers. He comes back after what seems like an hour and gives us both the same ticket. He said that we were speeding. My question is, is there a way to plea this down to a non moving violation even if it means that I pay a higher fine? Should I get a lawyer? I've never heard of this kind of violation before so it's pretty foreign to me. I never even knew that you could get a speeding ticket without a radar reading or anything.

HighwayMan

Super Secret Senior Member
Radar is not necessary to write any type of a speeding ticket. Besides, you don't really know if the officer used radar do you?

In any event, plea bargaining is common. What court does the ticket get mailed back to?

HighwayMan

It may not be worth getting an attorney considering that whatever points are assessed (3) will be applied to your New York driving record, not New Jersey.

However, chances are you will be given the opportunity to plead guilty to a lesser charge. Don't count on getting a conviction for a non-moving violation - with or without an attorney.

mugen939

Hi,