• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding 71 in a 45

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

trialsrider

What is the name of your state? California

Ok, so here's the deal, I'm a new driver under a provisional license (I've only had it for a couple months) and recently i was pulled over for going 71 MPH in a 45 MPH zone. I have a couple questions.
One: Can i go to traffic school? I have a clean record but I'm worried that i was speeding too far over the limit and that i may be denied the privelige to erase this point from my driving record.
Two: If I get this point on my record can my license be suspended because I'm still under a provisional license? I've heard of kids having their licences revoked until their 18 due to reckless driving, but I'm not sure where the exact boundaries of this rule extend to.
Three: I drive a 1995 BMW 318i, and on my traffic ticked the cop wrote that i have '95 BMW, model: 300. Is this enough of an error to contest the ticket in court and have charges dropped? I don't want to go into court trying to have the case dropped unless i know that this will definately work, and I think it should because the discrepency in the model number does seem signifigant.
Thanks for any help

seniorjudge

trialsrider said:
What is the name of your state? California

Ok, so here's the deal, I'm a new driver under a provisional license (I've only had it for a couple months) and recently i was pulled over for going 71 MPH in a 45 MPH zone. I have a couple questions.
One: Can i go to traffic school? I have a clean record but I'm worried that i was speeding too far over the limit and that i may be denied the privelige to erase this point from my driving record.