• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding Citation: No radar, LAPD on HWY, Invalid Court Date

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hiiambang

What is the name of your state? California

I'm not a lawyer, so I probably have some misconceptions about the law, but here are the facts and what I feel my argument would be:

FACTS
So, I received a speeding citation on 08/12/2007 and tried to search for it online today through the court website and couldn't find anything by the citation number or my drivers license number. It says sometimes you have to wait up to 21 days, but its been 21 and I don't see anything.

The reason I looked it up is because I looked at my citation and found that the officer put 08/11/2007 as the court date, which is impossible since that would have been the day before I received the citation.

The officer was from the Los Angeles Police Department, and the Location of Violation was at "N/B 210 FRWY E/O HUBBARD."

The maximum speed limit/safe was 65mph, speed approx. was 80mph. Vehicle Limit,
Radar, and Laser were marked as 0.

ARGUMENTS:
I haven't been able to figure out what e/o means, but I've heard that only California Highway Patrol has the right/jurisdiction to pull you over for violations on the freeway. I was pulled over by LAPD, so was the officer out of his jurisdiction?

The officer didn't use any type of equipment to determine what speed I was going. He said he had to go pretty fast to catch up to me, but decided to write me up for going 80mph. Since accuracy/calibration of equipment is required for proper speed readings, can this citation be dismissed since the speed is merely the officer's assumption?