• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding in IL

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

en4ev

What is the name of your state? IL

Hi there it is my first time here.... So here what happen I was driving in 2:30 am in Saturday on Interstate 90/94 and I got ticket for speeding for 100 on 55 I know I have done something wrong, but still can I go to jail or what kind of fine I can get. The ticket is mark as 11-601(b) 100 MPH on 55 MPH witch is not right because of the law of IL they are say is 11-601.5 and this is on the bottem of the ticket. Which one I will be on? What can happen to me.

Thanks Steve

Hey There

AN ANSWER to your question

3-12-08
en4ev

The ticket is mark as 11-601(b) 100 MPH on 55 MPH
right because of the law of IL they are say is 11-601.5 and this is on the bottem of the ticket
According to the Illinois Traffic Offenses .

IVC =IL Vehicle Code=11601(b)
EDPM Offence Code =06019
ABSTRACT DESCRIPTION CODE=06019
DESCRIPTION OF OFFENSE=Over 29 MPH above limit (a serious violation if committed in a commercial motor vehicle
POINTS=50 points

IVC=IL Vehicle Code=11.601.5
EDPM Offence Code=06019
ABSTRACT DESCRIPTION CODE=06019
DESCRIPTION OF OFFENSE=Driving 40 MPH or more in excess of the applicable speed limit (a serious violation if committed in a commercial motor vehicle)
POINTS=50 points

(Source:Traffic Court website)
Class A Misdemeanor jail up to 364 days or fine of $1 to $2,500 or both.
Speeding 40 or more miles over the speed limit is one example listed.
To get more information on this type in Illinois Traffic Offenses