• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

"Speeding" in Texas

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

William OQ

What is the name of your state? Texas for college, but my permanent address is in Illinois

The other day, I received a citation from a Texas State Trooper for allegedly going 81 in a 70. I have a few problems aside from the obvious "I can't afford a ticket because I'm a college student" problem. First, he didn't come up with my alleged speed until he came back with the ticket. This may not be THAT important but it did bother me. Second, he told me he gave me a warning, but after I signed, he gave me a copy that said VIOLATION, and after calling the Department of Public Safety, I found that this is an actual ticket, not a warning.