• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding Ticket - MA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

doc53

What is the name of your state? Massachusetts

Is there any way to fight a speeding ticket? I was given one for going 47 in 30 mph zone. I don't know what I was going, I was just going with the traffic flow. It's not a town I'm that familiar with, and honestly didn't even notice a posted sign, although ticket says there is one. Ticket is for $170.00!! I have not had a speeding ticket in probably 20+ years. Ticket says speed is posted, radar, estimated.

Is there any way out of this? Not only can I not afford it (really), but I drive for a living, and it may affect my job. :(

Sabor

maybe

Okay. I am not familiar with the laws of MA but i could look them up if neccesary. Here is my suggestions.

1. Were you driving in low level traffic? what time was it?
2. Is traffic school an option? this way u do not receive a point on your record for insurance.
3. Does MA have speed trap laws? look them up on dmv handbook/website for MA, if so , Is there a speed survey conducted for the street you were cited on? Analyze it for mistakes/enforability/age based on laws of M.
4. Written Declaration. Its a free shot if MA supports trial de novo (new trial if found guilty after sending letter).

Last edited:

sukharev

Hi,

you are lucky, MA has lots of interesting caveats to speeding tickets that are unique. Let me first say I am not an attorney, but I did win every single case for myself. Every time, in a different way.

Here is the rundown on a previosly posted comment:

1. Were you driving in low level traffic? what time was it?