• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding ticket / misdemeanor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hubris140

I was ticketed on the I-5 westbound in San Diego county. I was driving on my Indian (Foreign) license as I am a student at USC and I am on my foreign student (F1) visa. The officer did not accept my indian license and told me he would tow my rental car if I cannot provide my International license. I did show my Intl license but it had expired about a month ago. He then issued a misdemeanor for driving without a US license and needless to say, a speeding ticket too.
My court date is in a week and I am unsure what to tell the judge. I have taken steps to get a California DL by passing my written test. What should I tell the judge? What punishment am I looking at?

I would appreciate any sort of help.

HighwayMan

Super Secret Senior Member
First of all, I don't know what the officer told you, but there is no such thing as an International license.

If you mean an International Driver Permit, all that is is a translation of your foreign license and really means nothing. I don't believe ANY state requires that document in order for you to legally drive.

Secondly, you are a California resident and are probably required by California law to hold a California drivers license. Why that should be a misdemeanor I don't know, but you were cited for it since you were in violation.

hubris140

"If you mean an International Driver Permit, all that is is a translation of your foreign license and really means nothing. I don't believe ANY state requires that document in order for you to legally drive."