• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding Ticket in Siloam Springs AR

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

notahoser

I am a mechanical engineer and don't know much about the law at all. I have had speeding tickets before and just paid them. That being said, any information is greatly appreciated, here is my situation.

I was driving to work one morning traveling north on a two lane road in town. I saw a police car come around a curve and I slowed down to 35mph. I saw the officer pull off the road, turn around and pull me over. I was given a ticket for doing 46 in a 30. I didn't argue or anything because I didn't know how fast I was going or what the speed limit was. I wondered why I didn't know what the limit was, so I went back and checked and there were no signs. The next morning I took pictures of the road just for good measure. On the southbound lane however there were two signs. Is there any defined speed limit for unmarked roads?

My court date is tomorrow. I plan on pleading not guilty and then saying the road was unmarked, I was traveling at what felt like a safe speed, saw another car coming, and slowed down.

Should I ask for driving school or some sort of plea bargaining or is this something that is done prior to your court date? I have seen lots of stuff on the internet about 'trick' ways to get out of tickets like changing your court date. Is this something that is recommended or just silly?

Thanks for any information.

seniorjudge

notahoser said:
I am a mechanical engineer and don't know much about the law at all. I have had speeding tickets before and just paid them. That being said, any information is greatly appreciated, here is my situation.