• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding ticket while overtaking in Wisconsin

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

skp703

I am a Virginia resident and unfortunately I got my first speeding ticket (first traffic violation) in Wisconsin this weekend. Apparently the cop clocked me doing 80 in a 65 zone. I am actually not sure I was going 80 but that’s what he said. However he agreed that I was speeding to overtake vehicles and said that he will put that as a note. I am an international graduate student with excellent standing (4.0 GPA) and certainly financially don’t find it easy to afford a $186 ticket.

What are my best options-Should I contest the speed, which I think is too high, but while overtaking I was not looking on the speedometer? Should I say that was necessary for safe flow (don’t have much to back it up, except claim that there were other vehicles)? Should I also include a story of what might have happened like vehicle in front of me etc., again I have nothing except my friend riding along to corroborate. Should I emphasize that it’s my first offence and I generally am a safe driver and will saying that I am a poor student help?
I am back in Virginia so I will have to appeal with a letter any advice on that to will be appreciated too?

Will be grateful for any input.

The Occultist

It is not legal to speed even if you are passing another vehicle. Not even if.

I would go for the poor, remorseful college student and beg for mercy.

cyjeff

Let's see...

What are my best options-Should I contest the speed, which I think is too high, but while overtaking I was not looking on the speedometer?