• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

"Speeding" in WA State at 70mph on I-405

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

IrishBoy

I am a CA resident.

Visited Seattle WA this week and was driving south on I-405, just south of Lynnwood WA and was driving at a safe and resonable (albeit slightly more than the limit of 60 mph). I was stopped by a WSP officer who registered me at 72 mph. However as I behaved perfectly during the stop it was reduced to 70 ! ... The fine "bail" is $113... to me this is simply legalized extortion ! ( This was a clear dry day on an open 3 lane, light traffic well paved Interstate freeway ... I have driven worldwide for 20 years with ZERO tickets or accidents ( I am originally from Ireland and have driven safely at speeds in excess of 140 mph on the German autobahn (in new cars). I once drove, in one day, from Berlin through Germany, Netherlands, Belgium, France , into the Channel Tunnell and ended in Oxford UK at speeds well inexcess of 100 mph (legally) and never saw the type of entrapment we have here in the USA.. (of course ZERO accidents observed that day also)

My question is... as a CA resident can I get a deferment for this ticket ( I only visit WA occasionally ) ? In CA I drive a performance BMW (with V1 protection)... I NEVER drive when the road conditions determine it unsafe to do so. ( I have taken numerous defensive driving education courses including those from the London Metropolitation Police, UK).