• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Was there Probable Cause?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

prbbleloophole

What is the name of your state? California (involves Pennsylvania too)

I was recently pulled over in San Francisco. After it was said and done my car was impounded. The reasons were 12500(a), 6700(a), and 4152.5 which are No Cali License, (can't read this one), and Exp Out of State Registration, respectively.

I'm a student in Cali, who works, and claims Cali residency for college. My parents own the vehicle I drive; they live in Southeast Pennsylvania. The only proof that my car was in Cali was a parking ticket (paid it) issued on 9-7-02. I have worked in Cali without a car between 6-4-01 to 1-11-02 and 7-1-02 to 9-7-02. Also, I have never paid rent in Cali, or voted. Well I've read the law and it seems like some of the violations will stick, but there is a catch. Oh, I should mention that my Pennsylvania license is/was valid until 2-28-03, the car's registration is/was valid through the end of September (and renewed Friday in PA for yet another year), the insurance is/was valid through 7-15-03.

So the catch... The Officer stated that the reason he pulled me over was the expired Inspection and Emission stickers on my windshield. That is what he stated to be his probable cause verbally to me, and it was also noted in the "Evidence" portion of the citation.