• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ticket for violating DC's Distracted Drivers Act

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

snowfunatic

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? DC

I am a VA licensed driver. I was driving through DC on my way home and got ticketed for talking on my cell phone. I allegedly violated DC's Distracted Drivers Act. When giving my ticket, the police officer told me that if I went out and got myself a headset (for my cell phone), I could have the ticket dismissed/waived. But I called the number on the back of my ticket to see whether I should admit, admit with explanation, or deny it, the representative did not know. I have couple defenses:

A) What the police officer told me
B) Being a VA driver, I didn't know there was such law (pretty weak defense, i know)
C) The law states that "no person shall use a mobile telephone or other electronic device while operating a moving motor vehicle, unless the telephone or device is equipped with a hands-free accessory." I was actually standing still at a light when the police officer caught me. So would I fall under "operating a motor vehicle"? I mean, I wasn't operating the vehicle at the time.

What are your recommendations? Should I deny it altogether or admit with explanation? What is the likelihood that defense C would be persuasive?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney