• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

ticketed for Basic speed Law Can I fight and win?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

bboyes21

CALIFORNIA

Hi I had a quick question. I am a college student and actually unable to afford to hire a lawyer but at the same time think I may have had a ticket written up that should not have been. So I am just looking for advice.
Today I got a ticket as I left my new house (I just moved to bakersfield, CA). I was maybe a quarter mile out of the driveway when I was stopped by a motorcycle officer who was off his bike and out in the middle of the road waving at me to pull over as I approached him, which I did. He told me he clocked me at 43 in a 25, and asked for my information. He cited me for Speeding CVC 22350, and a seatbelt ticket as I had not yet put my belt on, (very stupid of me admittedly). Anyhow I know the cvc 22350 is the basic speed law. I was under the impression you could exceed the posted speed if it was not dangerous to do so. this was a clear, dry day, it was near a high school (next to the football field but no school in session or extracurriculars going on at all) on a Saturday and nobody was around traffic was light etc. I dont think 43 was all that unsafe at all for the conditions. Is this something I should fight? Does anyone win doing this? Any advice? I would appreciate any help. Thanks so much.

Sincerely,
Not In Need Of A Ticket! lol

racer72

I was under the impression you could exceed the posted speed if it was not dangerous to do so.