• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Traffic school dismissals for 2 tickets in 2 different states?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

luke2000

My question involves traffic tickets from the states of: California & Arizona

I'm a resident of CA. I recently received 2 traffic tickets. I haven't done traffic school before.

1) One ticket in CA which is eligible for traffic school - 22349(a) exceeding 65 mph max
2) One ticket in AZ which is eligible for traffic school - 28701A 50+ in a 35 zone

Can I do traffic school two times for both tickets since they are from different states? (Traffic school in CA and traffic school in AZ so both are dismissed?). Is it better to do one first and then the other due to checking systems? What is the best course of action?

Thanks in advance!

davew128

I can't speak with any certainty for AZ, but I would think no reason you couldn't since neither one would generally know about the other.

FlyingRon

I can't speak with any certainty for AZ, but I would think no reason you couldn't since neither one would generally know about the other.
I would agree as well. Note that the programs are different in the two state.

In California, you don't get a dismissal, rather the conviction isn't entered. You still pay the fine. The traffic school just blocks the point from the DMV.

In Arizona, you take the traffic school first and then your case is dismissed at trial. You dodge a lot of costs (and the traffic school is cheaper there as well).

luke2000

I would agree as well. Note that the programs are different in the two state.