• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Violation of new "no right turn" sign

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rebols823

A few weeks ago, I was driving in my neighborhood in Los Angeles, California at 8:30am and made a right turn where I often do. I was promptly herded over by 2 policemen who had been tucked behind a building and given a ticket. Apparently, a "no right turn from 7-10am" sign had been posted there while I was out of town (as a student, I was away for the 6 week summer. I had followed a tall u-haul truck right through the turn and failed to see the newly posted sign.

I found out later from a local shop owner that the police are out there every morning raking in violators of the new signs, which were posted about a month or so ago. It is not a very busy intersection and I see no reason for the sign (except maybe to detour people around a ritzy neighborhood)

So my questions are: 1) do I have any defense via/claim to a grace period for the new signs (which I had seen for the first time when I got the ticket), and 2) are there any laws against entrapment that would apply here?

Many thanks for your help.

Rebecca

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
So my questions are: 1) do I have any defense via/claim to a grace period for the new signs (which I had seen for the first time when I got the ticket), and 2) are there any laws against entrapment that would apply here?

Rebecca
1) No

and

2) No

I don't think those defenses would work. But if you honestly didn't see the sign - you could protest that IF the sign isn't posted correctly.