• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Virginia Reckless Driving

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bguenth17

I am a Maryland driver, and was going to OBX on vacation, and received a 80/55 Reckless driving ticket in Chesapeake County VA. I am going to court tomorrow, and wanted to know if anyone had any tips for speaking with the prosecutor before the trial in hopes of getting a plea deal.

Facts from the Case:
-Have a clean 11 year driving record in hand to show to Judge/DA
-Was nice to cop, and cop seemed to be nice to me
-Pretty well spoken, and can keep my emotions in check when speaking
-Do not have a lawyer, I talked to a bunch, and did not like how everyone was a salesman, and told me how awful everything was going to be.
- A lawyer I talked to from a Northern County in VA told me he would not hire a lawyer and throw myself on “Mercy of the Court”, and if I do not like the outcome of the case I can hire a lawyer within 10 days to represent me in my appeal (he said he personally charges the same amount for an appeal, he said less BS in higher court)
-Work in finance, where my current job would not be impacted by a misdemeanor conviction, but I would like to have a clean record. I have spent 27 years being a good citizen, and would like to not have a criminal record for a temporary lapse in judgment/attentiveness.

Thanks everyone for your help, as I am getting nervous for tomorrow, and would really like tips on how to talk to the prosecutor before the trial starts tomorrow.

FlyingRon