• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Digital Photograph ownership

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fandogs

What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania.

I am a professional photographer. I take only digital images. I create portraits, and sell them to customers. Most of my pictures are of animals.
Occasionally I reproduce some of these images onto brochures, sometimes onto sample products, and sometimes actual products for re-sale.
I have never had a problem with it until today. Today, I was told that because this particular customer didn't sign a release, I shouldn't have used her (dogs) image on some products for resale. She was insensed and said she had already spoken to an attorney to get a cease and desist order. I took all items using her images off the shelf immediately.

I was under the impression that a digital image which has no negative, cannot be "legally" owned,. And that either one of us has the right to its use.

When a signed photo of mine is going to be published in a magazine, often the magazine will ask the customer placing the ad, for a release from me... Which in my mind, says... I own it!
So which is correct? Who owns the images I take??What is the name of your state?

quincy

When you, as a photographer, take a picture, you own the copyright to the photo. You legally own that photo. This is the same whether it is a digital image or not. The fact that digital photos are often stolen does not make it any less an infringement on a copyright when it is.