• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Appeal

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

paintjob

I am a painting contractor in Va. I have just received a judgement against our company for approx. $2500.00. It was a color dispute. The homeowner that sued us never gave us a chance to see or fix the problem. My lawyer didn't make much of an issue of that in court and I feel that was the whole case. I am appealing the decision. My question is, do contractors have the right to fix the problem? This guy did not give us the chance. The homeowner never called us about a problem until nine months after we had finished the job and were paid in full. The first I heard of a problem was on a Thursday, I called and said we would be there Saturday to take a look at it. He said that won't be necessary since the new painter I've hired will be finished by then. Then he told me he wanted us to pay the new painters bill. He won in court. Don't we get a chance to fix our mistakes?

Paul

A

Attorney_Replogle

Generally speaking the homeowner has a number of ways to remedy the problem. He does not have to go back to the contractor to have them fix the problem. What the homeowner does have a duty to do is to quickly, promptly, and reasonably take steps to fix the problem. That may include getting another person/company to fix the problem. However, this general contract theory may be changed in your state since often times state governments want to have some regulation of licensed contractors.