• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

ATHLETIC SCHOLARSHIP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

MOOSE

MY SON WAS AWARDED AN ATHLETIC SCHOLARSHIP TO A DIVISION II COLLEGE. WE HAVE A SIGNED LETTER FROM THE COACH STATING THAT HE WOULD PAY NOTHING AFTER HIS FRESHMAN YEAR! NOW THE COLLEGE THIS IS NOT VALID! MY SON IS A 4.0 STUDENT AND HAS EXCELLED IN HIS SPORT! DO WE HAVE A CIVIL CASE? THE COLLEGE IS IN W.V. AND WE LIVE IN PA.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

I looked these up under West Virginia law. Went to the freeadvice.com homepage and at the top clicked on west virginia.

I don't know if this helps:
6) CHAPTER 18B. HIGHER EDUCATION.

The quarterly share of the higher education efficiency fund of an institution which is not so allocated, by the beginning of each quarter, shall be allocated immediately to the higher education grant program, pursuant to article five, chapter eighteen-c of this code, or if such program is fully funded, for expenditure among all institutions for scholarships and student grant programs.
7) CHAPTER 18C. STUDENT LOANS; SCHOLARSHIPS AND STATE AID.

As of the first day of July, one thousand nine hundred eighty-nine, any obligations of the board of regents pertaining to student loans, scholarships or state aid shall be transferred and deemed the obligations of the governing boards.

This is another part I found out.
§4-11-5. Legislative appropriation authority.