• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Breach of Contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

Misled

I entered into a business venture with an ex-attorney who happens to be my landlord and, I thought, friend. I am a Computer Programmer/Analyst, by the way. This man is very wealthy and claims to have many legal and political connections local in my area. The agreement was verbally made, and no documents were ever signed. It goes as follows: He would finance a business start-up company offering music management and recording services to unsigned music artists, something he has always wanted to do. The business would be operated out of his paralegal service office, for which he just renewed his lease for two more years to support the music business. He asked me to assist him for free, but I would receive 25% of his net profits if any were made. He also stated that at anytime, for any reason, I was free to leave the business, that this would be "OK".

I agreed.

In the months that followed, I worked extremely hard for an average of 40 hours per week with no pay. He paid for resources needed for the business, and I implemented them.