• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Broadening Tutoring Business

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wehra

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? AZ

I've been tutoring math for several years, and at this point, I mostly tutor college algebra students from The University of Arizona. Because of this, I have to do the same midterm/final review packets about 15 times a semester. Many of the students could use a packet of worked out solutions, and only one meeting with me to work out the ones they are struggling with. That being said, would it be legal to offer a solutions packet to these problems and sell them? If not, can I make a packet of similar problems (changed numbers) and sell that? All of this would be as study aids as most classes don't have to turn in the guide for a grade.

wehra

As stated, this is not a homework assignment or a test. Is it wrong of me to sell my time to show them solutions in person? They also sell solution manuals for text books, do you think that is a bad thing to do? My question is purely a question of copyright, not integrity.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
As stated, this is not a homework assignment or a test. Is it wrong of me to sell my time to show them solutions in person? They also sell solution manuals for text books, do you think that is a bad thing to do? My question is purely a question of copyright, not integrity.
Oh, I see. You want to COPY their work (without permission) and sell it (along with the answers) to others. Right?

wehra