• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Business pathways for F-1 status

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gric69

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Arkansas

Hello,

Please bear with me as I articulate my background which is necessary for you to guide me on this matter.
I am currently an immigrant PhD student in business, and my current visa status is F-1. I have multitudes of business ideas and I am ready to roll, however, I must make sure that I am doing this the right way. When I enrolled and arrived here, the university made me to sign a form which announces that I only work for the university and I am not allowed to work for anybody other than university, of course OPT is an exception. They also threatened me that I should not receive anything in forms of money or even gift from people in exchange for so called "work" they meant that if they track and identify that what I received was a compensation for my work it is against the law. For example, repairing someone's laptop and receiving food and cloth in exchange is against the law (not to mention money). The university is preparing us to enter job market and find a job as university professor, and they did a very good job so far that all of my seniors received "tenure track contracts" and they received their "green card" within a year of writing the contract, so I can work in or outside of the university by the end of 2021. However, I do not want to wait for four years to start my business. I would like to start working on my business and offer my services parallel to studying my PhD and becoming a university professor.