• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a layman )not a Doctor own a Medical Corporation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

partner

I proposed a business to a Doctor. He agreed to start it and be partners 50/50 . But he said that since I am not a Doctor I can not own a part or be partner or Officer in a Medical Corporation and because of that he should appear as sole owner. He incorporated the Medical Corporation and I do not appear in any paper. He put the money but I do all the work and use my own tecnology and know how. Can I own a part of the business ? What can I do to secure 50% of the growing Clinic. We do cosmetic surgical procedures. Please advice.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

I know lawyers cannot do what you want to do. But maybe it may be different with doctors?
http://www.ama-assn.org/physlegl/legal/busmgmt.htm

Legal Issues for Physicians
Business and Management Issues