• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

2tired

I am a real estate inspector who was hired, paid and had my contract signed by a guy representing his friends out of state. I recommended having an engineer do further investigation on the roof, attic, ceilings (it was a flat roof w/o an attic) and structure and wrote it on my report. The friend had a friend who was an engineer, and he looked at the structure, but not the roof, attic or ceilings. A year later, the buyers have put on a new roof w/o letting me have any roofers or engineers look at it, and are wanting to sue me for $180,00 just to settle w/ them. They aren't suing their friend or his friend, the engineer. Their lawyer is harrassing me and knows I don't have insurance. I was never even contacted by the buyers w/ any questions or concerns when they first felt they had some problems back in Nov., just notified in April by the lawyer. Do they have any basis for a case against me if I put it in writing and verbally in front of 2 witnesses, both agents?

ALawyer

Most inspectors I know require the clients to sign contracts that limits potential liability.

I know the only way you'll end this is to have a lawyer of your own write the guy a letter and sounding tough.

------------------
This is intended as general information only and NOT LEGAL ADVICE. You are not my client, and I have no obligation of any kind to you. To retain a lawyer, go to http://AttorneyPages.com

T

Tracey

Wow, I think the owners were here in April asking if they could sue you! I told them no. Here's why: