• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I need an LLC?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

njValor

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado.

I want to start building custom computers, but only in my local area. I don't plan to make a living, only some extra cash (I am a poor college student). I planned on meeting with a customer, determining the best parts for them, then having them order the parts to their own house where I will pick them up and build the PC within a couple of days. This way I will not handle any of their money until the end where they will pay me a commission fee based on the cost of the PC. I plan to offer a 30 day free service on the parts, but after that charge if the computer needs repair (faulty parts or construction errors will appear within a few days if they exist).

I have read up on LLC's and I'm sure I could start one, but I want to know if it is absolutely necessary. And if it is, can I act as my own registered agent?

njValor

Just for liability's sake, I suppose. How can I set up a payment contract or something if I don't have an LLC? I just want to make sure I don't get taken advantage of and don't get in any legal trouble.

FlyingRon

You are always personally liable for your actions. If you make a computer negligently and it catches fire you can still be held personally liable for your negligence even with the LLC.
You can move the financials into an LLC but you may find that nobody wants to deal with your startup without you also personally signing to be responsible. An LLC probably isn't too painful in Colorado, $50 to file and a nominal fee every year.