• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Extortion - Graphic Design

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

pamelaalford

What is the name of your state? Missouri

I am a graphic designer under contract to provide designs for advertisements, product packaging, etc. - in addition to other marketing services – to a client. This client and I have a five year contract due to expire on May 12, 2004. The contract compensates me with 15% commissions on all sales resulting from the use of the graphic designs as the only form of payment for my services. All graphic designs are either currently in use, or have been used. During the first two years of the contract, commissions were practically non-existent. Sales, and commissions, have increased dramatically in this fourth year of our contract.

The client has been provided with the "flattened" print files on CD-ROM for all design work. The client has now demanded that I turn over all "unflattened" files. This is not standard operating practice among graphic designers, as many of the elements used in designs are licensed to the graphic designer and releasing "unflattened" files would allow the recipient to use those elements in unauthorized manners. It is also time consuming, and would require massive amounts of storage media for the thousands of files demanded.