• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Florida Law For Door To Door Canvassing Need Help.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

uncbunnkey

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

Hi i am a small time painting contractor who would like to go door to door giving away FREE estimates to home owners, the law in my county says that if im selling something over $25 that i need to have a solicitors license per person in my company that is helping me . it takes weeks and weeks to get an approval and lots of money. I called the county and asked if it was ok to give away free estimates and she said technically yes but if a person calls the police they could tell us to get the license lol.

What do you all think we are not charging anything for the estimate and if the customer wants us to go ahead and do the job we are asking them to call the office to send out a salesperson who can help them.

Whatcha think?

adjusterjack

Sorry, but the public perception of those kinds of solicitations are that they are scams by fly-by-nights who will take your money and disappear. You might not be like that but you will be perceived to be like that and likely turned away and maybe not without an earful.

I get annoyed when somebody comes to my door and says "I can paint your house for $2000" or "I see you need a new roof, I'm a roofer." That last one actually happened two weeks after my house had a brand new roof put on. The schmuck was either stupid or a scammer, or a stupid scammer.

I don't mind finding a business card on my door (I toss flyers) because they are easy to save and I can call when I need that kind of work.