• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

fraternal loan, verbal contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

hanul12274

Hello and help!
I am a student in Virginia, my brother lent me $1500.00 with the intent looking for a car. I ended up having to use the money for maintenance on the vehicle I am driving now and for school. We agreed on a payment schedule. I have maintained that payment schedule. I even offered to pay back as much over the agreed bi-monthly amount as possible and available. :confused He is angry that I did not use the money to buy a car and is now threatening to take me to court. I know this is probably a matter for small claims, but there wasn't a forum for it. Does he have any bases for a case? I would appreciate any advice. Thank You,
brennan

[This message has been edited by hanul12274 (edited June 29, 2000).]

JETX

What basis is his claim for taking you to court? Was this agreement in writing? Does it specifically say that the loan was to purchase a car?

1) Breach of contract? You say you are making payments, no breach.

2) Failing to buy the car? Unless the loan agreement specifically says that it was for a car purchase (was the car to be collateral?), he has no basis.

3) Specific performance? Again, is the car purchase a requirement of the contract?

Sounds like another prima facie example of ALWAYS GET IT IN WRITING! and GET ALL THE DETAILS!!!

------------------
Steve Halket
Judgment Recovery of Houston
[email protected]

H

hanul12274

Thank you for replying.