• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Friend formed LLC using my new business name w/o my consent

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

selket

I am in Arizona.

I recently (November, 2006) chose a business name I wanted to start using for my identity (I am an oil painter, and have yet to see any financial gain but have gotten a lot of good feedback after doing my first show in December and have an opportunity to do another show this spring.

I designed the name and logo and created business cards and some flyers for the show. I did not officially register my name in any way but was actively using it and handing out my cards. I also registered a domain with this name for a website I will sustain. The cost of the domain was too much for me to afford, and my friend and housemate paid for it without mention of expectations or ownership. This friend has been very supportive of my work and has helped my financially all along, eagerly, and stating that repayment is not expected but if I become a raging success, it would be nice to pay something back. This was never stated as a requirement.

On a recent trip out of state for the holidays, I recieved an email from my friend stating that he was going to form an LLC using the name I created, designed and started using for my own identity, and that he was going to make himself sole owner/partner of this company.

I really didn't care much about his choosing to form an LLC, but I vehemently opposed his taking and naming his company with my name that he had never mentioned interest in previously.