• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How to differentiate trustworthy people and business offers from scams?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

crazymao

A man, Executive VP/Business Development of The Silicon Valley Space Center (at least that's what his title says) contacted me and wants to do business together, build a software application and license it. The problem is that I'm a student, 19, he found me through a service similar to LinkedIn and saw my previous work which is mostly hobby and not really impressive. I have no clue why such a serious businessman would choose me. Even though this is exciting and if real would be an amazing opportunity, it sounds way too good to be true and I'm not sure if I should proceed. Also I live in Canada and he is in the US, not the most rational set up either. What to do :confused:

quincy

A man, Executive VP/Business Development of The Silicon Valley Space Center (at least that's what his title says) contacted me and wants to do business together, build a software application and license it. The problem is that I'm a student, 19, he found me through a service similar to LinkedIn and saw my previous work which is mostly hobby and not really impressive. I have no clue why such a serious businessman would choose me. Even though this is exciting and if real would be an amazing opportunity, it sounds way too good to be true and I'm not sure if I should proceed. Also I live in Canada and he is in the US, not the most rational set up either. What to do :confused: