• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

If I Have a Small % of Owner's Equity in a Biz, Does That Include Legal Liability?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Biz Law

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Not sure, possibly DE

My question involves a new company being formed to operate a website. I believe it would be an LLC and not a corp.

The main contact person forming the company wants to buy something important from me to use in the business. I am considering asking for a small cash payment, and a % of "owner's equity" in the business, perhaps only 5%, plus a small % of gross revenue to be paid to me, perhaps 5% as well.

I've never done this before and I do not know what all the legal implications are if I have an "owner's equity" stake in the business, but I know that deals like that do occur for the type of sale I may be making.

If I do this kind of deal, would any "owner's equity" stake I receive also mean I have all the same legal liability the business would normally have for its actions and decisions, or does an "owner's equity" stake protect you from all that and simply mean you are entitled to a % of the value while having none of the liability?

LdiJ

My question involves a new company being formed to operate a website. I believe it would be an LLC and not a corp.

The main contact person forming the company wants to buy something important from me to use in the business. I am considering asking for a small cash payment, and a % of "owner's equity" in the business, perhaps only 5%, plus a small % of gross revenue to be paid to me, perhaps 5% as well.