• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Music Production Business

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

c_lowson

What is the name of your state? Texas (Austin)

I'm a music producer and wanting to set up a company to copyright my music to. I already registered the name but I'm unsure of where to go from here. I've been told I need to go through a $300 process to actually register the company or something like that.

A friend of mine who is also a producer sent me a copy of the contract he uses when artists buy beats (instrumental tracks he's produced) from him. He said I can just use his contract and change his name to mine, but he has all his work copyrighted in his own name and I'm wondering if the contract should be different if I'm copyrighting them to a company, or if I can just substitute my company's name for his name.

Thanks for the help.

JETX

I'm a music producer and wanting to set up a company to copyright my music to. I already registered the name but I'm unsure of where to go from here.
What did your attorney say when you contacted him/her??
Of course, the company DOES have an attorney, right?? You are in a very litigious industry... and really, REALLY need to pay the minimal cost of accurate LOCAL legal counsel.

clueless3

You don't need to "register the name" per se. You can simply file the Articles directly; that would register the name too. In Texas, the fee for registering the Articles is about $300. You can do all of this online at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/corp/index.shtml.