• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Opening An S-corp

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dosaldo

What is the name of your state? CA

I was offered a job by an old employer. He advised for me to open up an S-corp instead of being under his regular payroll, to help me take the advantages of tax-reduction.

For the sake of my question, my salary will be $52K annually. He will pay my S-corp a weekly check of $1,000. Being that is my sole income, am I allowed to pay the entire amount to me, as the owner?

I am new to this, so pardon my ignorance. I will like to get insights on how will forming an S-Corp be a better avenue than being under his payroll.

Thank you in advance.

tranquility

To answer your question, generally yes. In fact, you may be *required* to pay yourself the (big bunch of law--let's say fair market value) of your services.

That shouldn't be your question, however. I bet, from your description, *he* will benefit and not *you*.

tranquility

With an S-corp, based solely on what appears to be your plan, he would not have to pay the employer matching portions of the social security taxes and medicare and you would. You would also have the organizational costs, the costs of filing a return for the corporation and the recordkeeping costs for the corp. These costs would also include payroll returns and reporting requirements and the payment of unemployment taxes.

And that's just off the top of my head.

That does not mean it is bad. It is based only on what it seems like you are planning to do. (Get a 1099 to the corp and pay it all to you in salary.)

Last edited:

clueless3