• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question about handicap parking regulations

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jay968

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a manager of a store that is part of a strip mall. I have no jurisdiction at all over anything outside my store, not the outside of the building, not the parking lot, nothing. The parking lot is owned by the landlord and managed by the mgt company.

Today a person came in complaining that a non handicapped employee of mine parked in a handicapped spot at the side of the building. First off, it is no longer a handicapped spot, and does not have any signs designating it as such. All that remains is a very faded ground painted handicapped symbol which was just never fully painted over by the managements company. There ARE handicapped spaces out in front of the store in full compliance.

She is saying that we are in vilolation for allowing employees to park in the old space. I told her three things,...
1 - I have no jurisdiction over the parking lot and that it is the mgt company's responsibity.
2 - There are handicapped spots in front of the store even closer to our entrance way which are in full compliance.
3 - The spaces which she is referring to are no longer handicap spots and have no upright signs designating them as such.