• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Questions from a college student with an investment company idea

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

james545454

Hi there,

I am a college student kicking around ideas for a year long intensive entrepreneurship class I am taking in which we have to start a fake business. I have a basic business idea provide below and I am wondering how difficult something like this would be to start in the eyes of the law.

So let's pretend that someone started a company that offered insurance for investors when their stock declines. For financial traders, the idea is very similar to a put.

• Example: Someone owns 1000 shares of a stock valued at $100 per share ($100,000 worth of stock). Let’s say they want to buy insurance against the stock going down over the next year with our made up company. Let’s say they pay $15,000 to insure that they will not take any loses below a $90 stock price for the next year. If the stock ends up at $110 a year later, they lose the $15,000. If the stock goes down to $50 a year later, the made up company would deposit $40,000 into their account. Hopefully that example gives you the basic idea of how the company would function.

My question is if someone were to start this business, what type of business regulations would it have to follow?

• Would it be an insurance company?
o At its most basic level, it seems this company is just offering insurance on an uncontrollable event occurring.
• Would it be a stock brokerage/exchange?