• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rights Violated?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mimiy2k

I am a minority shareholder and officer of a corporation that has been existence for several years prior to my marriage this year. The primary office of the corporation is in our home. The computer equipment in that office belongs to the corporation which my husband has no interest in.

A couple of days ago, plain clothes detectives from the Sherrif's office (Southern Calif)showed up at our door, never presenting a warrant, and searched through my business computer files, hard drive, netscape bookmarks, online web visits, etc.

They did not seek my permission and I walked in in the middle of it.

This happened because years ago my husband was in the wrong place at the wrong time and ignorantly accepted a misdemeanor plea for something he was not involved in. He was in the house when his brother had consensual sex with a girl he thought was over 18 but who later turned out to be a runaway and minor.

His brother pled guilty to Rape of a Child and served time. My husband was threatened with all kinds of charges, although although he was not directly involved. Out of intimidation, he accepted a plea of "immoral communications with a minor" which was a
misdemeaner and "no big deal" he thought.

This happened in another state and there you do not have to registr as a sex offender after 10 years on a misdemeanor offense.

He found out that in california, where he now lives with me after marrying me, that Calif supposedly requires him to register as a sex