• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

S-Corp Shareholder in another state

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

blueman

What is the name of your state? MN & NY
I have a couple of questions and would appreciate any help:

1. If I am a Minnesota resident for tax purposes and am also a shareholder in a New York registered S-Corp, how is my share of S-Corp income or loss treated for state tax purposes?

In the first year of operation I am anticipating losses and would like to be able to offset these against regular income in Minnesota.

2. If I am a NY S-Corp, registered as a foreign corporation in MN do I also file a Corporate tax return in MN or just in NY??

Any help appreciated

Blueman

clueless3

What is the name of your state? MN & NY
I have a couple of questions and would appreciate any help:

1. If I am a Minnesota resident for tax purposes and am also a shareholder in a New York registered S-Corp, how is my share of S-Corp income or loss treated for state tax purposes?

In the first year of operation I am anticipating losses and would like to be able to offset these against regular income in Minnesota.

2. If I am a NY S-Corp, registered as a foreign corporation in MN do I also file a Corporate tax return in MN or just in NY??

Any help appreciated

Blueman
1. Are you simply a "shareholder" in a NY corp? or are you an officer, actively engaging in business with that NY corp?

If you are simply a shareholder, then you won't be personally taxed in NY, just MN.

However, if you are actively engaging/working with that NY corp, then you'll be personally taxed in both NY and MN. Now, MN might give you a deduction if you pay NY income tax.