• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Valid Business Arrangement?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

EthicalIhope

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I'm a recent law graduate and I'm thinking of walking down a fine line in the future, and I wanted to run it by everyone here.

My single girlfriendless father is about to retire (in about a year.) He expects to get around 100-150k a year from a mixture of old pension plans, social security, and (primarily) from capital gains on his various stock investments.
He would be amenable to providing some additional assistance to my cost of living. My father's afraid he is going to be bored as **** when he retires, and was considering doing some part time work just for the sake of working.

I want to start my own practice (in a few years). I pitched taking him on as a paralegal/assistant.
I would start my own firm, which would presumably lose a substantial amount of money.
Whatever money I did make, I would pay to him up to 50k or so, as a hopefully reasonable salary, further assuring I would be in the red or at least minimally in the black.
He would continue to support me financially, likely assuring I would have at least a minimal standard of living although I would be (in theory) reporting virtually no income.

1. Would I qualify for Government assistance? Welfare? Foodstamps? Subsidized Health Insurance?
2. Would I be committing tax fraud?
3. Would I be committing fraud of any sort, violating any ethical rules, or committing any sort of crime?