• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1099-MISC dilemma

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ttranmd

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

Hi, I happened upon this forum and had a question I hoped someone could answer. I am a physician working for a company, and I derive my salary from them as a certain percentage of everything that I bring in. I also work as a medical director for a different company. They issue me a monthly check as compensation for my duties, and I turn in this check to my company. As a result, the money that I receive from them already has the taxes taken out, and I do not actually see the "money" I receive from this other company.

I have filled out my taxes based on the W2 of the first company, but have just received a 1099-MISC from the second company. I do not want to be taxed twice for the same amount of money. How do I handle this problem on my tax return? Thanks!

tranquility

If I understand you correctly, I'd place a statement on the back of your return explaining how you were just a nominee. That may not be the correct application of the facts, but to really give more would require an interview regarding the facts.

irsos

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida