• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1099-MISC? Hmmm...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

OmniCube

What is the name of your state? WA

Here's an odd one. I am a content producer. I own this content 100%. I create this content in my free time. I am otherwise employed full-time in a field unrelated to content creation.

I recently started offering my content for sale through a website that hosts similar types of content, and processes payments from web surfers who want to buy that content.

Every month, I get a check for about 70% of total sales of my content. The owner of the website keeps about 30% of the total sales to offset hosting, bandwidth, and billing costs. We have no agreement, document, or any other instrument of any kind that indicates that I provide any 'services' of any kind to this business.

In essence, I filled out a web form with my name, address, and e-mail. I received login credentials via e-mail. I uploaded my content. My content was displayed on the website. Web surfers purchased. I got a check every month.

Nowhere on this website or the web form that I completed does it say anything about the legal or tax-related relationship between myself and the business running the website.

Anyway, this business sent me a 1099-MISC, with the total amount of the distribution I received in 2004 under box 7 (nonemployee compensation). Seems to me that, for whatever reason, this business has just tagged me as an 'independent contractor' (at least in the eyes of the IRS, that is...)