• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Back taxes / Employer filed W2s in wrong states ... what would you do?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

aimeea

So this is a confusing and incredibly weird situation.

In 2011, I worked as a remote employee for a company. I lived in South Carolina. About a month into the year, I notified my company that I was moving to Oregon and did a few days later, and worked from there for the rest of the year.

For some reason, in 2012, I filed a federal tax return but didn't file a state tax return in South Carolina or Oregon. Not sure why I didn't, almost certainly an oversight on my part because I'm usually very diligent about taxes, but that's my fault. I moved away from Oregon in 2012, haven't lived there since.

Fast forward to this month. I get an alert from my credit monitoring. A lien has been filed against me by the Department of Revenue in Oregon for $6900. They had been sending notices to my 4-year-old address in Oregon. Obviously, I didn't receive these letters. I call them to find out what the lien is based on and they tell me it's for $4200 of unpaid taxes, a 50% penalty, and then some interest that had accrued on that. They had filed a substitution return on my behalf based on my federal return.

I figured that I probably just needed to file an amended return and they'd see I had taxes withheld from my state wages and all would be fine--I'd owe maybe a few dollars and a penalty, but nothing huge. So I called my former employee from 2011 and asked for a copy of my W2. And this is where it all unravels and gets weird.