• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California statute of limitaions on unpaid income taxes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gypsyjoe

What is the name of your state? California

I worked in California in 1981. I am currently a resident of Maine and have been for years.

I did NOT FILE State income taxes with California for that year.

Last week I received an "Income Tax Amnesty Application", stating that I owed almost $10,000. in back taxes for 1981.

My question is two fold. First, what is the statute of limitations for unpaid/non filed income taxes in California? Secondly, should I file the application that they sent me, inspite of the fact that I have no means to pay?

Thanks for any help you can offer
Gypsy

Last edited:

Snipes5

There is NO statute of limitations on UNFILED tax returns. They have 10 years to collect the unpaid taxes, after filing date or due date, whichever is later.

DO NOT file the paper they sent you without talking to an Enrolled Agent or Tax Attorney with California experience.

Your best bet will probably be to fill out and submit a proper return for that year. It is highly likely that their determination of what you "owe" is almost entirely invented by them. They take your income, assume you have no deductions or credits, add penalties and interest, and tell you that's what you owe.

Get professional advice. Do not attempt to tackle the FTB by yourself.

Snipes

Jo-Ann

State: California

Quoting from above post: There is NO statute of limitations on UNFILED tax returns. They have 10 years to collect the unpaid taxes, after filing date or due date, whichever is later.